In my selection of 20 images, I need to have 20 strong photos so I will be using my current selection of 10 because the ten I have already selected are some of my strongest. I’m then going to add another 10 to make it up to 20.

There are key images I feel I need to include, such as a photograph of Richard, The Minister of the church. He’s an important part of the narrative and without him the narrative begins to become a bit loose, so he will definitely be one of the images I am adding. I am also planning on adding in a couple more portraits, because when I got to speak to each of the individuals, they all had different things going on in their lives, not just church, but somehow they all linked back to their beliefs or ties within the church. Therefore, I thought it’d be great to include some of this information in my captions if I used their portraits. This will give me a backstory behind the person, providing extra information not otherwise seen in the photograph therefore adding to the narrative.

Other images I am thinking of including are establishing shots of the location of the church so that it is easier to visualise where the story is taking place. I also want to include some of the shots that I discounted from my series of 10. I feel some of the images were strong, but just too repetitive to be viewed as ten, but I think they work better in a sequence of 20 as they tie up some of the looser ends.

These are the final 20 images I want to use:

I had considered using the following images in my final cut, but then I thought they jarred with the sequence and weren’t particularly good additions to the narrative.

The top three were taken away from the context of the church which is different to the rest, so I didn’t think they worked that well in terms of lighting. Also the portraits were a little bit more soft than others, so because they weren’t as strong in this respect I thought it best to omit them and replace them with stronger images. I didn’t include the side view of the altar because it was quite messy and distracting. I chose to not use the high up overview of the church because I already had an internal overview which I preferred a great deal more. The singing image I didn’t include, because although I like it, the light was strange compared to everything else. I also didn’t include the close up of the ‘last supper’ because it just seemed a bit odd and out of place. Something about it didn’t sit well with me in terms of placing the images together so I took it out. However I am now happy with my final 20 images after having a play around with different combinations and think the photographs I have omitted were a good choice because they didn’t bring anything new or specific to the project.

I then placed all 20 images onto separate pages in PowerPoint. I then worked on my caption for each image to try to convey what I wanted to say. I didn’t want to be obvious and state what it was showing, but I felt it was key to give some information on the topic. With the individuals, I thought it best to give a bit of context about them – something you can’t see from just looking at the picture. Similarly with the more contextual photographs I wanted to explain some of the things that go on within the church that work around the object in the image.

I have revised my captions numerous times so I don’t repeat myself over and over and also because I want to give the information in a concise way. ‘Extended Captions’ was the idea, and I’ve not wanted to write a massive paragraph, but just enough that gives an overview of what is happening or taking place within the image. Especially as the PowerPoint will be exported to a video with timings on each slide, I think it’s key that there’s not too much writing or you’ll be stuck on an image for ages.

My finalised captions:

captions

 

Ordering my slides:

First Edit:

layout-of-slideshow

I used the slide sorting section of PowerPoint because I got an overview of every image in the sequence this way. This is first edit of my sequence. I want to open with the overview of the inside of the church because it creates this open kind of atmosphere that can lead straight into the action. I then know I want to follow up with an image of Richard, as it is his church after all! I then want to have a mixture of portraits and object shots so there’s not too much of one type of thing in each shot. At the moment I’ve got the quotes laid about randomly on the pages too, depending on whether the image is portrait or landscape and I don’t like this, so in my next edit I will try to rectify this by making them all the same or less obvious. I also have not made any of the images full bleed because then the captions get in the way and intrude upon the image so I’ve kept my photos with a margin around them.

I’ve also introduced a slide with a title on to give a better overview of the story. I debated about this for a while, but then decided I needed to have one because otherwise it just jumped straight into the subject and I didn’t like that at all.

Looking at the current sequence, I think there’s still room for improvement. Not all the images are flowing next to each other, but I will play around with this in my next edit.

Second Edit:

second-attempt

I’ve sorted the placement of the captions out and made them all the same size and length. I’ve also changed the font so it’s easier to read. I’ve made an alteration of the order of the images because I wanted to use the captions themselves to help with the narrative of the images. I’ve moved Richard’s wife’s portrait to after his because I feel they ought to sit together one after the other as they are both prominent figures within the church. I’ve also added in the praying hands after to break up the four portraits that were currently next to each other as after some consideration I deemed that four portraits in a row was a bit too much.

I’ve also had the same problem with other images that aren’t portraits where there were a couple of very similar ones together. I’ve noticed as well, slide 18 and 19 are actually quite similar in some respects, so I might change this in my next edit.

Colours within images are a big consideration because I don’t want them to jar between each image. I want to get colours that allow for a smooth transition between each image to the next because this will create a better flow. As I had seen in the One in 8 Million research a key aspect of a good photo story, is making sure that the images flow well together. The moment an image jars with the audience is the moment that they loose track of narrative and may tune out so it is important that I get this narrative right in my final edit.

Third Edit:

new-slide-sorter-image

This is the third edit of the sequence. I am actually very happy with this particular edit and think it is at the point where I don’t feel like I need to change it anymore. The images are a good mix of portraits and object shots, the captions work well from one photograph to another holding the narrative and provide an extension of what is being viewed. The colours within each image I have tried to allow to flow into the next and I think I’ve been fairly successful at accomplishing this. Also there are no photographs next to each other that directly relate to one another, such as the problem I had previously with two crosses next to each other. I’ve decided to end on the photograph of the congregation singing together facing away from the camera because I think it’s a nice final shot and kind of wraps the narrative up. I’ve also included in this caption a religious excerpt which I felt was relevant to the topic.

I am happy with this edit and I think if I change it any more it will not improve the outcome I’m trying to portray in my narrative of individuals coming together to join in one faith. So I think this is going to be the final edit for this power point.

Below is the video of the 20 images and the extended captions:

 

 

 

