I have now conducted 10 different shoots and have shown my lecturer the images I have produced in order to establish what I want to select for my final edits for my 10 images and my 20.

These are the images I’m considering using as part of my 10 and 20 images. There is quite a range of images so I want to select the best ones that work well together. This project is all about careful consideration when it comes to forming the edit.

The final edit from all shoots:

My first idea was to have my ten images as just a series of portraits. It was advised I didn’t use the images of the younger members I had because they didn’t fit into the sequence as well as other images did because they were taken in a slightly different location and looked a bit odd as well. So therefore I decided to just look at using adult portraits for my final selection.

However, it was pointed out to me that I also had some quite strong contextual shots that gave some sense of context that would actually benefit from being in the sequence of ten images. My initial thought was to try to do half and half – 5 portraits and 5 other shots.

However, after playing around with a different selection of images, I have decided I’d like my final edit to be 6 portraits and 4 contextual shots as the project is more based around the community at Highbury rather than the church itself, but I need the 4 other photos to give this context.

I now have to decide which 6 portraits are my strongest and that I want to use. I really want to use my landscape portrait, however it is clearly the wrong orientation to the rest of the portraits and will stick out because of this. I am going to crop the images and see how this looks as to whether I can use it in my final images:

I think I do like the full, uncropped version of this photograph better because the light is more apparent down the entire length of the left side and works really well with the overall photograph. But at the same time, I am quite content with the cropped version too because the subject sits well in the centre of the frame and the light falling off the left side is still visible. I think the background appears more cluttered in the cropped version in comparison to the unaltered version, however there isn’t much that can done about this without changing the entre nature of the photograph, which I don’t want to do.

I think this is one of my strongest portraits and I’m really pleased with the light that rolls of the left hand side, so I definitely want to use this in my final 10 images.

Another portrait I really like and want to keep into my final edit of ten is the following image. However it needs to be heavily colour corrected because it is really yellow as it was taken in a different part of the church to a lot of the other images. Although it doesn’t fit as well, I really love the portrait and think it is really nice so because of my personal preference I want to put it in my final ten, if I can colour correct it successfully:

During colour correction, the image began to look a bit grey, but even asking fellow students and other technicians, it was deemed this was the closest colour to reality possible. I really love the photograph, and am going to put it as one of my final ten. The pose of the lady in the image is very natural and she looks at ease. Because of her headscarf I think it makes her a more interesting subject and the composure of image adds a second layer of detail. I think the portrait conveys her personality and a sense of pride in who she is – which again comes down to the representation that was talked about by Henning in Liz Wells’ book. I feel I’ve done her justice in terms of representation and I’m very happy with the outcome. I am just slightly disappointed the colour wasn’t as good as it could have been if shot under better lighting.

I feel that to give an accurate representation of the congregation, a couple of my final images need to be of men. Out of the final images I selected, I had a couple of Richard which I would have liked to have use, but I just don’t feel that they are as strong as some of the other portraits that I have taken. The two male portraits that I think I want to use are:

I’m happy that both images are sharp and would fit into a sequence alongside the other images in this group of ten. My ten images need to be my strongest and they  also must convey a narrative in themselves, and I think these two are definitely some of my stronger portraits and because of that I think the narrative is stronger.

The next portrait I am thinking of including as portrait number 5 is this one:

_mg_7629

I want to include this portrait into my final ten because it provides a little bit of context about my overall subject. Her dress and the cross that are seen hanging round her neck, symbolise ideas of religion and as my ten images won’t have writing accompanying them, this image provides context which ties into the narrative. I think the image also highlights the differences between generations within religion because a lot of the younger congregation I met, do not wear the cross so that it is on show. However, this lady did and I think it’s key to capture her portrait in this way, showing something she strongly believes in. It compliments the other images in the sequence and is posed slightly differently from some of the others as she is sat rather than stood. The only thing I can say I am unhappy with in this photograph, is the fact that there is a strong white light behind her head which is a bit distracting and would have been good if I had positioned myself to avoid it. But, despite this, I really like the image and that is why I am including it in my final set.

For my final portrait, I have decided to swap the photograph of Andrea with the following photograph instead. because I think there’s something about the fact she’s not looking at the camera but there is still an attachment to her. Also the bible she is clutching I think again, adds to the contextual narrative:

_mg_7683-copy

The only disappointment I had with the final outcome of this image, was the fact that the colour was really odd and I wasn’t at all happy with it. I have had to colour correct the photograph as best I can in order for me to use it. I think in terms of a portrait, I really love the fact you can see both her facial expression and her hands too. It seems natural and unforced and I’m happy I was able to get an un-posed, natural representation of her. Although I liked the photograph of Andrea, I think that it made the sequence run a little flat. There was no flair to the images and they were all quite standard, whereas this changes up the sequence a little and adds a little candidness into the final product.

This is the colour correction that took place (as perfect as could get it):

 

When it came to trying to choose the other 4 images to accompany my portraits, I came up with many different variations:

  1. This was the first version, but I think all the colours within each image are so different they don’t work well together. Also the last three images felt like a repetition of each other because the cross featured in all three. I’m also not very keen on the colour in the first image and how it would work with my portraits as it is quite different from anything else I have. This led me to a second edit.

2.

The second edit I’ve retained the image from the back of the church looking forward. I think it’s a good overview shot and provides some context to the situation. So therefore I think it’s key this is included in the final 4. I changed the image of the altar to a slightly different one to see how this would work, but think I will omit this and replace it with another photograph, because it is too similar in some respects to the overview shot and the praying hands that are on the table in another shot. I replaced the window shot with the bible image, but I still think the set is missing something and I don’t really feel that it adds that much to the selection in terms of narrative.

 

3.

In my third edit, I’ve retained three of the past images from my second edit. I was thinking about what I wanted the narrative to be and I decided that actually the whole point of religion is to bring people together, so why didn’t I have a shot of the congregation all together? I’ve found this overview shot of members of the congregation singing together and think that actually this gives a more cohesive overview of the what this religion is about. Coupled with the praying hands and the empty overview of the church, I think these are three images I will be keeping in for my final edit. I’m still not happy with the bible image as the praying hands already convey this part of the narrative so it feels a bit like repeating myself just using a slightly different way to say it.

4.

After speaking to my lecturer, I remembered I had the photograph of the girls lined up singing. When I put the four together, I felt they clicked a little bit more together and worked well as a set. I think these are the final four images I am going to go with the add to the 6 portraits. The colours work well together and the narrative is easily identifiable but is not too in your face. I think also having the photograph facing the girls singing almost shows a greater connection with my own photography because it shows I’ve stepped into the action and not just standing by and watching so this is apparent in the sequence.

 

All together my final 10 prints will be:

Seeing all the images together, I am actually really happy with the selection. I think they convey a good narrative and are each different yet work well together all the same. The images are sharp, which was what I was most concerned about and I think that colour correcting the images has made a big difference to the final outcome. I’m happy with the final product and can identify certain issues or problems or what went well within my work so that for future reference I can improve and take forward my photography for next time.

