Anna-Lou ‘Annie’ Leibovitz was born on the 2nd of October and she is an America portrait photographer. She has photographed many famous faces in her time as a photographer and is the only woman to have held an exhibition at London’s National Portrait Gallery. She has photographed for Vogue and other brands. She mainly photographs portraits of people and can take exceptionally good portraiture photographs in a studio and out of a studio.

I have found some photographs from Vogue which I really liked that she shot as portraits in environments and in studios. I also really loved her project for UBS called ‘Women: New Portraits’ which took a series of photographs of over 30 women.

 

Her work is very much inspired by Richard Avedon and his ‘person reportage’ and this development of close rapport with her subjects as seen in the video for the women project on the UBS site. See below:

https://www.ubs.com/microsites/annie-leibovitz/en/exhibition.html

The photographs are prominent because she creates a different look unlike any other photographer can, but she creates and stages her photographs in ways that appear realistic and true to life. They don’t look fake or like they would never happen – her images are always believable. Not only that, but they manage to convey personality and she has a great rapport with her subjects and those she needs to work with. Moreover she isn’t afraid to change up what she is doing and experiment, providing this great montage of images that all fit into a series. I was most intrigued by the women series because it is all portraits of women. Similar in some ways to my own ideas for my project, which actually inspired me to look at how I am photographing and potentially giving me ideas for my own shooting practise.

These are some of the photographs from Vogue that Leibovitz has done that I thought were a good source of research and something I really could begin to understand, especially as Leibovitz is also a woman photographer like myself and so she has a different approach to photography compared to what a male may have.

The images are all significant to me, because of the fact that Leibovitz isn’t afraid to let motion blur get in the way of her images, and she is also very considerate of light. She’s placed subjects in relevant environments and created a portrait that tells you something about the nature of that person. I really like this as an onlooker and she isn’t afraid to express her images in a way that she is happy with and everyone else would be happy to look at.

